News and knowhow for farmers

Africa Food Prize competition submissions closing soon

Dr Anwanza Kanayo.jpg

Dr Kanayo Nwanze (in black suit) is congratulated after winning the 2016 Africa Food Prize. Nominations for the AFP competition are ending in four days. The winner pockets $100,000 (Kes10.3 million). Photo by KU-TV.

Nominators have four days to propose their preferred candidates for the competition for Africa’s leading impactful agriculture initiative award, Africa Food Prize (AFP). 

The initiatives of the nominees can be research or a collection of other efforts aimed at ending African dependence on aid.

Submissions for considerations for this year’s Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa and Yara International sponsored award started in March 6, 2017 and will close on June 5, 2017.

The winner of the $100,000 (Kes10.3 million) prize will be announced at the AFP gala dinner on September 6, 2017 during the African Green Revolution Forum in Abidjan, Ivory Coast.

“The prize celebrates Africans who are taking control of the African agenda and changing the reality of farming from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives.

“The prize puts a spotlight on the bold initiatives and innovations that can be replicated across Africa to end hunger, poverty and provide a source of employment,” the AFP Committee Chair Olusegun Obasanjo said at a past event.

Nominators give personal details and specific contributions made by individuals, groups or organizations towards boosting food security and turning agriculture into a business and employment opportunity in Africa.  Supporting documents have to be attached to the forms.

The nomination forms are filled online or printed before submission to the AFP Secretariat offices or via email.  

The AFP Secretariat is head by prominent experts in the agriculture and food industry. The secretariat selects candidates and hands them over to the AFP Committee for a decision.

One is declared the winner after garnering a majority vote from the AFP Committee. The committee’s decision on the winner is final, and cannot be challenged.

Anybody or organisation can participate in the competition despite their nationality or origin.

 READ ALSO: AGRA launches Africa’s agriculture bible

READ ALSO: AGRA scales food security resolve with new programme

READ ALSO: New Amiran Kenya and Yara fertiliser triples vegetable harvests

AGRA chairperson Strive Masiyiwa was quoted as saying the prize will play a fundamental role in offering solutions to challenges facing African farmers like financing.

Dr Kanayo F Nwanze, the former president of the International Fund for Agricultural Development, won the AFP 2016 award for his advocacy and research contribution to supporting small-holders and agricultural research for about 40 years.

In his acceptance speech in Nairobi, the researcher promised to “continue supporting, mentoring and inspiring young generations in building a better and brighter future for the continent – Africa”.

Yara International started the prize in 2005. It was renamed from the Yara Prize to Africa Food Prize and launched in Ghana in 2016.

Dr Nwaze was the first winner of the AFP.

Get our news into your email inbox every week

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top